The organisation is the outcome of years of work by the few people interested in promoting horseback archery in the UK. Most notably Hilary Greenland, Secretary of the SPTA, organised events and brought people together who were either interested in the sport or practising it. Following such an event on November 3rd 2007 held in Somerset, attendees agreed to establish the BHAA in order to create a more structured approach to the development of the sport.

 The BHAA Committee for 2020 is as follows:

President: Michael Ruby

Secretary: Katie Phillips
Treasurer: Rebecca Sweetman

Membership: Pauline Fairley
Records: Tracey Attfield
Sponsorship: Rebecca Sweetman 
Website: Richard Rowland & Helen Barnes
IHAA Rep: Claire Sawyer

Clubs & Schools: TBC
Qualifications & Grading: Helen Barnes
Team GB Strategic planning: Paul Naybour
Ground archery postals: Damian Stenton

Complaints / Discipline: Paul Naybour & Yvonne Munro
Welfare & Safeguarding: Vik Harding 
Horse welfare: Ros Jones

Competitions Coordinators
Adam Snowball (North), Paul Naybour (South West), Simon Harding (South East)

Honorary vice-presidents:

Grand-Master Kim (Korea)

Holm Neumann (US)

Christian Schrade (Germany)

Tanaka-san (Japan)

Michal Sanczenko (Poland)

We thank them all sincerely for their support and encouragment of horseback archery in the UK

The BHAA is affiliated to the World Horseback Archery Federation, WHAF.