The BHAA uses two qualification systems, the first is the International IHAA grading system, which the BHAA administers in the UK. The second (outlined below) are UK specific BHAA qualifications. These have been developed by the BHAA in partnership with EQL, an independent body that runs the British Horse Society qualifications, and are tailored to UK horseback archers.

BHAA Qualifications

The recently updated BHAA qualifications require a rounded skill set, including safety, correct techniques and a knowledge of archery, equestrianism and the wider sport of horseback archery.

There are 3 basic types of qualification: horseback archery ability, coaching and safety/refereeing. There are 3 coaching levels and 3 practical levels, including 2 that are available at walk for young or disabled riders.

A 450 page manual to accompany the qualifications has recently been updated and is available to buy

Those wishing to start a qualification can obtain the relevant logbook from their BHAA Coach or find digital copies of the logbooks here.

If you are ready you can use the online application form to apply for qualifications. A scan or photo of the Progress Tracker page in the logbook needs to be uploaded with your application.

The BHAA has a number of presentations available to help those studying for qualifications, links can be found on this page.

A list of current qualification holders can be found here.

Club Horseback Archer£20 (£10 for concessions (junior/student/iHBA)
Intermediate Horseback Archer£45
Club/Intermediate Coach£45
Advanced Horseback Archer£60
Advanced Coach£60
Pin badge£5
Range Safety Officer (ground)Free
Range Safety Officer (mounted) Free

Within 2 years of getting a qualification you may convert it to the other qualification based on the same syllabus (i.e. coaching / practical) for just £10. E.g. an intermediate horseback archer who completes the necessary coaching training need only pay £10 to get his club coach (within 2 years of getting his intermediate hba) rather than the full fee of £45.

These qualifications are also used by: